All Types of University in India

The Latin term “Universitas Magistro Rum et Scholarium” means “culture of teachers and scholars.” A university is a higher education and academic institution that specializes in a variety of subjects.  

In India’s early history, the oldest recognized universities were mainly educational centres. The bulk of the universities were still Buddhist monasteries. A university is an educational and academic institution that offers both undergraduate and graduate programs. 

Nalanda was founded between 450 and 1193 CE, Odantapuri was founded between 550 and 1040 CE in Bihar, and Somapura was one of the country’s most prominent universities from the Gupta period to the Muslim conquest. Universities in the Indian subcontinent were once centres of higher learning, where scholars from all over the world came to learn about spirituality, politics, and economics. 

History Universities in India: 

In India, medieval universities were founded as institutions of higher education with various subjects such as arts, law, medicine, and theology. These universities originated from much older schools and monasteries, and they have continued to support society until the present day. 

India began to develop universities with a wide range of facilities, especially for women. After independence, India has slowly made gains in the field of education. 

There are both public and private universities in India. The federal government and state governments both fund a substantial number of universities. Other colleges, such as Dheeru Bhai Ambani University for Electronics, are run by private individuals. 

Types of Universities in India: 

Universities Total No (31/03/19) 
Central Universities 54 
State Universities 411 
Private Universities 287 
Deemed to be Universities 123 
Total 875 

In India’s education system, universities are divided into four categories based on how they have been founded. Central universities, state universities, deemed universities, and private universities are the four types of universities. Aside from these four, there are institutes that have been classified as institutes of national importance. 

The Indian higher education curriculum was overhauled, and new technical courses were implemented. The All-India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) is a body responsible for the country’s technical education system’s organic planning and development. Another agency that Honors universities is the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC). The NAAC is a non-profit organisation sponsored by the Indian government’s University Grants Commission. 

What is a Central university? 

An act of Parliament establishes central universities. In the region, there are 54 central universities. At all of India’s central colleges, the President pays a visit. The University Grants Commission (UGC) is the federal body that finances the upkeep and growth of these universities.

The Indira Gandhi Open University and Central Agricultural University Imphal are the only two central universities not financed by the UGC; they are sponsored by the ministries of human resource development and agriculture, respectively. 

Among the central universities are the University of Delhi, Allahabad University, Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU), and Aligarh Muslim University (AMU). 

What is a State university? 

State universities are those that are created or recognized by a state legislature act. There are 399 public colleges in the United States. State colleges include the University of Calcutta, University of Madras, and University of Mumbai, three of the country’s oldest institutions of higher learning. 

State governments are in charge of creating state universities and offering plan and non-plan funds for their creation and maintenance. The UGC allocates budgetary funds to 411 state universities. 

Unless the UGC makes an exception, state universities established after June 17, 1972, would not be eligible for any grant from the central government, UGC, or any agency collecting funds from the government of India, according to section 12(B) of the UGC Act. 

What is a Deemed university? 

Institutions of higher learning that are not universities are often awarded the status of a university in recognition of their excellent standard of education. The word “deemed to be university” or “deemed university” applies to such institutions. 

The UGC bestows the rank of deemed university on institutions. The UGC Act, Section 3, provides for the conferring of this autonomy status to high-performing institutes and departments of different Indian universities. 

Deemed university status grants those institutes and study centres full autonomy in terms of course work and syllabus, as well as the right to set their own admissions, tuition, and student instruction policies. 

On completion of their program, candidates are granted degrees, much as they are at most colleges. In the region, there are 123 deemed universities. 

Manipal Academy of Higher Education, Symbiosis International Education Centre, Pune, which includes Symbiosis Institute of Computer Sciences and Science, Symbiosis Institute of Business Administration, Symbiosis Society Law College, Narsee Monjee Institute of Management Studies, and Indian Institute of Information Technology. 

What is a Private university? 

A private university is an institution of higher learning founded by a funding body, such as a society registered under the Societies Registration Act, 1860, or some other corresponding statute in effect in the state, a public trust, or a corporation registered under Section 25 of the Companies Act, 1956, by a state or central act. 

For an institution to be awarded the status of a private university, the state legislature must pass an act allowing the institution to do so. Private universities must be accredited by the UGC in order for their degrees to be of some merit. 

The Birla Institute of Technology and Science at Pilani in Rajasthan, which is funded and run by the Birla Group Trust, became an officially recognized university in 1964.